South of Superior

This week’s book is the first of many that I bought for three dollars or less. When you love reading as much as I do and you read as fast as I do, you go through books very quickly. They may not seem like it, but books get very expensive. So, that means that pretty much the only time I’m buying physical books is once in the summer and once in the winter, when Barnes and Noble has their three dollar and under sales. I look forward to these times of the year immensely.

Sometimes I get gems. Sometimes I get stinkers. Most of the times I get a nice way to pass the time.

This one is a definite gem. 

This book is good, folks.

Reading it is like sitting in my parents house watching a movie while eating my mom’s home cooking.

Reading it is memories of Cracker Barrel and chicken and dumplings with my baby brother and grandmother, and our joy as she let us pick out candies after lunch.

freaking. YUM.

Reading it is comfort and sadness and most of all, familiar.

I have never been to Michigan (or the U.P. as it’s referenced in the book) but it just feels like my life. I didn’t grow up poor and I’m not an orphan, nor did I experience anything like the difficulties the people in this book endure, but the whole time I feel like I should just hug every character to show my solidarity (and as a general note, I do NOT like hugs). I’m saying all of this because I want to somehow express to you how well these characters and this place is fleshed out into being. If I drive to Michigan I just know I can go visit this fictional town and have lunch at the pizzeria and babysit Greyson.

From what I understand this is Ellen Airgood’s first novel, and I feel like she has already mastered something huge. This story is just so darn relatable. And I am loving the italics this post. That’s about the eightieth time I’ve use them today.

Madeleine. What can I say about this character? I just had coffee with her. I just complained about the latest rejection with her. I see her when I look in the mirror, looking at our respective purposes and wondering if we’ll ever be in a place to fulfill them.

And Gladys. Oh my goodness, I love Gladys. I really, really love Gladys. I think she’s my favorite character.

I would call this book a coming of age story about a 35-year-old woman who has unceremoniously had her anchor of life cut and she is drifting and unsure. She ends up going from Chicago to Michigan and the road in between is hard and she struggles but it reads as sweet as honey because you can relate so well.

In case you can’t tell, I really enjoy this one. It’s not merely a good way to pass the time, like many books are to me. I thoroughly enjoy reading this story.

My favorite sentence:

There was something magic in that endless turn on water, something oceanic and wild and old, something that would outlast the petty arguments of customers and cashiers.

Would I recommend this book? Without a doubt. In fact, I’m wondering why you aren’t reading it already. I’d love to hear if other people were able to connect to the stories and the characters as much as I did.

Would I read it again? Yes. This book came in my most recent haul in January so I’d only read it once before this reread. I’ll wait a little while, but I’ll be glad to return to this story.

  Are you interested in purchasing this book? If so, and if you like Amazon and also like me maybe you’ll buy it from here! 

for next week:

LITTLE WOMEN

by Louisa May Alcott

2 thoughts on “South of Superior

  1. Pingback: The Very Thought of You | The Wander Prone

let's hear it!

