The Very Thought of You

Okay folks, up next we have yet another…

drum roll please

historical fiction!

 

Dang. I didn’t realize how much I was drawn to plot lines from history. Oh well, I enjoy them and they continue to write them, so other people must enjoy them too!

I know exactly why I bought this book (it was one of those marvelous under $3 books I talked about a few weeks ago), and it has much to do with the fact that it’s based during the second World War. That part of history is endlessly intriguing to me, and I think it’s because I have a very personal connection to it (as most of us do with the recent going-ons of history) – my paternal grandfather was a soldier based in France, where he met my grandmother. Inasmuch as I loved (and continue to enjoy) listening to their stories, it is sometimes nice to read a little bit of fiction about a period of time when so many were hurt in so many horrible ways. Maybe it removes it just a step. Is that a bad thing? I’m not sure.

I’m coming into this review with a little bit of trepidation. I’m going to go ahead and let you know it will be very rare for you to get a distinctively negative review from me. Having said that, I know one is coming up and I am dreading having to read that book, I didn’t finish it the first time.

This isn’t going to be one of those reviews.

However.

I didn’t love this book. And I wanted to. I was all set up to.

I’m not really sure who the story is about. Probably that’s my first major problem with it. Also there is lots of infidelity in this book, and I am not a fan of cheaters at all. I don’t like it when it’s painted in a decorous light or even talked about in a way that’s intended to make the reader feel sympathy for the cheaters.

However.

Damn, girl, calm down. Quick spoiler (close your eyes children) ALL OF THESE CHARACTERS ARE CHEATERS. Now this seems incredibly implausible all by itself, so add on the point that horrifying things happen to all of them and it’s just too much for me. I don’t think cheating turns people into murderers or basely hateful humans or even causes bombs to fall out of the sky and kill them dead. But, maybe you love melodrama, so there’s that.

This would be one of those books that I read to pass the time. They have their place, and I think they are needed. Times when you’re sort of tired or just need something quick or are even having a rough patch on the toilet and want something to take your mind off of it, this is good for that.

Once again, I certainly wouldn’t say it’s a bad book. It’s not at all. Although I think the story has so much more potential than it’s given, it’s still intriguing. The London blitz was awful and I can’t imagine being a parent who send off their child into the unknown, or being a child who is not quite capable yet of understanding why this is happening. For those who have an interest in these sorts of things this book will certainly be a nice diversion.


i can’t even comprehend it sometimes

Also, it’s more of a romance than anything. So by this point I’m feeling pretty duped.

My favorite passage:

Every day she tiptoed across the unknown terrain of other children’s affections, clumsy with self-doubt. She could not work out why she feared other children more than they feared her. It was easier to walk away into the woods, and be on your own. Read a book.

I admit I had a bit of trouble finding one. This author writing style is a bit off to me.

Would I recommend this book? Uh. Yes? But first I would ask:
Are you a fan of romances placed on a historical backdrop?
If your answer is yes, then yes! Please do read this book.
Or if any of what I’ve said sounds intriguing, pick it up! The best thing about reading is everyone has a slightly different response to each book. Maybe you’ll love it, and that will be just as legitimate a response as my mild indifference toward it!

Would I read this book again? I don’t throw away books very often. That means this little buddy will go back on the shelf until I forgot what it’s about and pick it up again.

Are you interested in purchasing this book? If so, and if you like Amazon and also like me maybe you’ll buy it from here! 

for next week:

MODEL, INCORPORATED

by Carol Alt

 

 

 

 

 

let's hear it!

