Pride and Prejudice

When I was younger I went through this phase where I wanted to read all of the classics. I don’t remember what brought it on or how old I was, but it had to have been late middle school/early high school. Because of this phase, I have a bunch of classic books. Not all of them, but a bunch. And, man. I had totally forgotten how much I really love this book.

 

my cover is awful though.

I’m not really even sure why. At first glance, it’s not really the type of story line to interest me. A bunch of girls meet boys, drama ensues. I don’t know if it’s because the story is so universally known or what, but it’s just such a nice read. I really do hate Mr. Darcy though. I know he has this big come back at the end where he’s so nice and great and Elizabeth loves him. I just really don’t like him. He’s such a buttonhole. Of course, at the end of the read I sort of reevaluate and decide he must be alright, because I do love Lizzy and she loves him, so okay. I accept him. 

I don’t often want to go back to another time. You hear people say things about how they were born in the wrong century or whatever, but I’m pretty happy where I am. Historically things have sucked for just about everybody, and I really think that’s evident in this book. Some parts sound fun, sure, but on the whole being a woman you were completely dependent on men. If someone didn’t arrive that your parents could give you to, you were screwed. And it’s so sad too, because not only did your parents get rid of you, they pretty much paid someone else to take care of you. “Here, have my daughter and also lots of money. Maybe a cow or two.” That’s freaking depressing guys. It makes me sad that this is what we come from, and I’m glad I don’t live in a place or time like that. What I do love is the movie. For some reason I hear a lot of unhappiness directed to the 2005 version, but I LOVE it. I’ve seen it over and over, and will without a doubt watch it again today. It’s such a pretty movie, and I think they did such a great job of putting the book onscreen. If you haven’t seen it yet, go watch it. Donald Sutherland as Mr. Bennett is quite possibly my favorite. In that same vein, if you haven’t read the book, you should! It’s a classic for a reason people. Also it’s just nice. I like it. As bad as things seem to have been, there’s still a part of me that sees that time period as romantic, and I think it’s stories like this that plant the seed for that. Maybe we’re all nostalgic in some way or another. Favorite passage:

“Pride,” observed Mary, who had piqued herself upon the solidity of her reflections, “is a very common failing, I believe. By all that I have ever read, I am convinced that is it very common indeed, that human nature is particularly prone to it, and that there are very few of us who do not cherish a feeling of self-complacency on the score of some quality or other, real or imaginary. Vanity and pride are different things, though the words are often used synonymously. A person may be proud without being vain. Pride relates more to our opinion of ourselves; vanity to what we would have others think of us.”

Are you interested in purchasing this book? If so, and if you like Amazon and also like me maybe you’ll buy it from here! 

It’s free on Kindle, if you have one!

for next week:

SENSE AND SENSIBILITY

by Jane Austen

*you may have noticed I didn’t include the ‘would i recommend’/’would i read again’ blurbs. it’s because they were redundant and i was tired of them. 

let's hear it!

