we finished the first letter!

Well guys, we have officially made it through 9 weeks of book reviews, and in doing so I’ve re-read all of my ‘A’ authors! Onto the ‘B’s!

Before we continue on our merry way, I wanted to kind of give a chance for anyone who might be following the reviews to give their opinion. After doing this 9 times, I’ve realized that my style is less “here’s what this book is about, here’s why it’s good or bad” and more “i love books i love to read here is why i like this book also have a picture”.

And I like it. I don’t read to find out if a book is good or bad. A book has to be really, really awful for me to get no enjoyment from it, so I read books because I love to read. I also really like sharing the things I love, and this is a way to do that. Now, I like my book reviews. And yes, partially I’m writing them for me. It’s a good way to unwind, by going back over a recent read I get to enjoy it again. I also might look something up about it and learn something, and I have fun trying to add little tidbits and pictures. However, I’m also writing these reviews because in the past couple of years, I’ve noticed this trend of people on the internet asking, “what should I read?”

So I’m also doing it for them. In a few years, maybe I’ll have reviewed every book I own. Maybe it’ll help some people come to love the same things I love. I want this to be useful to people.

Here’s what I’m asking you to do, person who might be reading this: if you’ve followed all 9 reviews or even if you skimmed through one, what did you think? Do you feel like you learned enough about the book to discover whether you’d have any interest in it? Do you have any constructive criticism for me on how I can adjust my style to better serve the reader?

If so, please feel free to comment! If you’d rather share your thoughts with me privately, you are welcome to do so. I have set up an email specifically for reviews: shelbyanneleereads@gmail.com

There’s a lot of ‘E’s so type carefully! If you have a book you’d like me to review and I haven’t already passed that letter, I’ll look into it.

Thanks guys. I want these to be great for everyone.

 

for next week:

THE BLACK TOWER

by Louis Bayard

let's hear it!

