The Black Tower

HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAYYYYYY!!!!

How fitting (kinda) because today (I mean I may be reaching for a connection) we’re talking about a book about the FRENCH REVOLUTION!

Ugh. You guys.

I have always been really into France. I’m not sure when it started, I don’t remember waking up one day and thinking, “I’m going to aggressively like France to the point where it’s obnoxious to everyone around me”, and yet I do. From the time that I was little it’s been something I thought about and talked about. I used to regularly lie to people (strangers, friends, anyone really) and tell them I was born in France. Sometimes when I talk to people now I let them think both my paternal grandparents were French so I could have that coveted child of French immigrants status. I’m a total dork.

Before I was really excited about the language itself, I was captivated by the history. I loooooooooooooove history. I LURRRRRRRRRVEEE HISTORY. Gosh. It’s one of the main things I love about traveling. You just don’t find history like that in the States. But I also can spend hours in museums or looking at books about history or even just sitting and thinking about history. And I had a connection to France, so its history has always just sort of felt familiar.

Onto the whole reason I’m writing this blog :

This book. It’s about one of the periods of French history I’m most familiar with. The revolution.

Any project I ever did in school where I could make it about the French revolution, I did. I wrote more essays about Marie Antoinette than I probably should have. I made power points and poster boards and even the other day my roommate was asking about the French Revolution and I rattled off the dates like it was my parent’s birthdays.

So, yeah. I’m predisposed to really enjoy this book.

And I did! The writing style is sort of weird, and if it had been on a different subject matter it probably would have annoyed me more. The story of Louis-Charles is a captivating one to me. I always sort of equated it with Anastasia (the movie), because there was such an air of mystery about it. What happened to him? How could it have happened to him? How could people have allowed a child to be treated that way?

Okay. I mean. I know how. I’ve been to Versailles. If I was a regular human being living in 18th century France watching my children starve and being unable to do anything about it, I would be equally as outraged to see my monarchs living in such undisguised opulence.

And yet. If someone were to tell me I could live in Versailles to day I would say yes before they even had time to finish extending the invitation.

DSCN1964

DSCN1954

DSCN1942

DSCN2040

DSCN1966

 

It was a horrible period of time for pretty much everyone. Poor everyone. Sure am glad I don’t live back then. Also Vidocq is one cool character who I think I might like better than Sherlock Holmes. Also Vidocq was real and his life story influenced Hugo’s Les Miserables and he was pretty much the first private detective, so YEAH.

Read this book! It’s good and it’s about things that happened after the French Revolution and it’s mysterious and then come talk to me about France. We will talk for millennia.

Also if anyone has a way to get me back to France that doesn’t cost me anything and also allows me to support myself why don’t you just go ahead and share please.

for next week:

A GREAT AND TERRIBLY BEAUTY

by Libba Bray

3 thoughts on “The Black Tower

  1. I think I may read it! I recently started my blog about different French aspects (culture, grammar, vocab, etc.) The Black Tower seems like a good read and I totally understand your love of France and French. It’s also interested me since I was younger.
    Have a good day, Sarah.

let's hear it!

