The Hiding Place

I told you guys I might have a surprise book review, and here it is! This book is called The Hiding Place, and it’s by David Bell.

For some reason it seems like a disproportionate amount of the books I get from my biannual hauls have something to do with horrible things happening to children. I don’t know why, I guess maybe it’s some sort of niche, like romance novels or something? But a bunch of them go on sale and they have intriguing summaries and not-awful covers, so they end up with me and I end up crying softly into my pillow.

This novel is part mystery novel part family drama part child tragedy. It’s a good book, if an extremely quick read. Today ended up being one of my lighter work days (only worked 7 hours), but even if it hadn’t been I would have finished this book lickety-split no problem.

The story – about the disappearance and murder of a four year old boy and how the family (and community) deals with it 25 years later – doesn’t feel that new to me. It feels like a lot of family drama books I’ve read. I really don’t know why those ones go on sale so much. Anyway, it’s a good story, if not a new one. But then, are there any new stories, really?

Short and sweet today baby dolls. And once again, this is a brand new read for me, so I reserve the right to happen upon it again in a few years and completely disagree with myself. This is the wonderful thing about reading, it can be a different experience each time if you let it.

So buy it! Or don’t. I’m not the boss of you.

But if you are going to buy it, take a quick trip here!

let's hear it!