Nameless

I’m not even sure that I want to write this review. If I hadn’t started out doing this as a way to reread and review all of my books, I probably wouldn’t. I don’t like the idea of writing something negative, because I believe that writing a book and getting it published is commendable, even if there are people who don’t like it.

There are very few books in my life that I haven’t finished. When I first bought this book, I didn’t make it past the first chapter. The writing is not good and the story meanders. It doesn’t make much sense, but mostly my problem with this book is its writing style. I read the whole thing this time, because it wouldn’t have felt right to have a review of a book I didn’t even finish. I’m really not happy I did finish it though, and I have no idea why I kept it after not being able to get through it the first time.

The idea is an interesting one, a story told through the eyes of a fallen angel. Unfortunately the interesting story does not translate over into a good book.

However, I do find it so worthwhile that a young man who grew up in a homeless shelter was able to write a novel based on the works of his imagination. I hope he builds on this desire to write and creates more works of art and imagination, that with each one he will become better and better because the only way we get better at things is to continue to do them.

Although someone else might like this book, I cannot recommend it. However, it is always good to support authors, especially young ones, and if you want to allow Kyle Chais to receive proceeds from this book, purchase a copy for a library or donate it. Just because I didn’t enjoy it doesn’t mean the author doesn’t deserve praise for a real accomplishment and support as he continues to make more.

 

 

for next week:

THE A.B.C. MURDERS

by Agatha Christie

let's hear it!

